National Standards UK

Below we have mapped out where each lesson reflects the standards of the UK National Curriculum (ages 11 – 13). These reflect the Design and Technology ‘Programmes of Study’ published by the Department of Education.

The second table maps where the Intermediate lesson pack and the Advanced lesson packs reflects the subject content of the new GCSE KS4 curriculum (ages 14 – 16). This lesson pack is a great way to prepare students for the non examined assessment (NEA) part of the qualification in year 11. Depending on how you structure your curriculum e.g. a two year or three year KS4, the intermediate lessons could be used in year 9 or year 10 as a 7 – 8 week 3D printing project to help prepare students for the final year NEA Project.

KS3 Design and Technology curriculum

National curriculum standards KS3 Lesson 1 Lesson 2 Lesson 3 Lesson 4 Lesson 5 Lesson 6 Assessment
Develop the creative, technical and practical expertise needed to perform everyday tasks confidently and to participate successfully in an increasingly technological world
Build and apply a repertoire of knowledge, understanding and skills in order to design and make high-quality prototypes and products for a wide range of users
Identify and solve their own design problems and understand how to reformulate problems given to them
Develop and communicate design ideas using annotated sketches, detailed plans, 3-D and mathematical modelling, oral and digital presentations and computer-based tools
Select from and use specialist tools, techniques, processes, equipment and machinery
Investigate new and emerging technologies
Understand developments in design and technology, its impact on individuals, society and the environment, and the responsibilities of designers, engineers and technologists
Technical Knowledge
Understand and use the properties of materials and the performance of structural elements to achieve functioning solutions

KS4 Design and Technology GCSE

The table below maps where the learnbylayers Intermediate curriculum and the Advanced curriculum meets the standards of the new KS4 GCSE subject content published by the Department of Education. This also includes the links to Maths and Science content that each lesson contains, resulting in a true STEM experience for the students.


By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website


Start teaching 3D Printing

Lesson plan, powerpoint, lesson task and homework task.

By entering your email agree to us storing and handling your data. We will add you to our mailing list which you can unsubscribe from.  We will not share your email with any third party companies.

Press the button below